2019 Tournament Winners

Congratulations to all of the winners this year!  The full list is below.

Thanks to the committee who put on the Luncheon at Mt. Vernon, it was a great event.  Looking forward to a festive and fun time on December 12 at Carey’s house.

Happy Thanksgiving!

2019 Tournament Winners

League Gross Winner:  Sue Spatcher
Senior Gross Winner:  Sally Reams

League Net Winner:  Kathy Sullivan
Senior Net Winner:  Mae Kiehl

Overall Low Putts:  Helen Shinn

Flight A Gross Winner:  Kathi Pierce
Flight B Gross Winner:  Kathy Chandler
Flight C Gross Winner:  Myong An
Flight D Gross Winner:  Kathy Rath

Flight A Net Winner:  Jung Hee Kim
Flight B Net Winner:  Eileen Ruzicka
Flight C Net Winner:  Lucinda Audey
Flight D Net Winner:  Ruth Coakley

Flight A
Most Accurate Drive:  Sally Reams
Longest Drive:  Greta Kohlhagen
Closest to Pin:  Jung Hee Kim

Flight B
Most Accurate Drive:  Helen Shinn
Longest Drive:  Judy Flader
Closest to Pin:  Judy Flader

Flight C
Most Accurate Drive:  Mary Palm
Longest Drive:  Myong An
Closest to Pin:  Ann McClung

Flight D
Most Accurate Drive:  Kathy Rath
Longest Drive:  Heidi Moos
Closest to Pin: Kathy Rath

 

Posted in Uncategorized

Diagrams and explanation of Model Local Rule 8E-5

Hi Ladies,

Recently, the Board has adopted local Rule E-5 for our league for the purposes of helping the pace of play.  This rule should  be used if you have NOT hit a provisional ball. If you have to play your provisional ball there is only a one stroke penalty. If you use Rule E-5, you incur a 2 stroke penalty.

Attached are 3 diagrams showing  your options and how they should be applied. Three scenarios are covered. They are when your ball can not be found, when your ball goes out-of-bounds and when either of those two situations occur close to the green.

The full explanation of the rule is on the GWGA website or you can just Google “Model Local Rule E-5”.

Questions? Please, just let me know.

Sue

Rules Chair

Posted in Uncategorized

Rule of the week #20 – New rules for caddies

Hi Ladies,

Just in case any of you will experience the luxury of having a caddie, there are a couple of new rules that apply this year.

Your caddie is no longer allowed to stand on or close to the extended line of play behind you while you are taking your stance until you make your stroke.

Your caddie may now lift and replace your ball on the putting green without your permission to do so. Last year, it was a 1 stroke penalty!!

This is my last “ROTW’ as Greta and I have been calling them since January! Thank you, Greta, for posting these in a timely manner and thank you all for your feedback and positive comments. This is not the last you’ll be hearing from me!! Every week, my playing group always sends me back home looking up a specific rule because a particular situation came up or somebody just had a question and I will be sharing my findings with you. If a question/situation comes up in your group, I’d love to hear about it.

Take care,

Sue

Posted in Uncategorized

Rule of the week #19 – Requirements before lifting your ball

Hi Ladies,

When a player has good reason to mark and lift a ball to identify it, check for damage or see if it lies in a condition where relief is allowed (such as to see whether it is embedded), the player is NO LONGER required first to announce to another player or his or her marker (one who keeps your score) the intent to do so or give that person an opportunity to observe the process.

Many of you have probably needed to at one time or another identify your ball, especially in the rough, and have lifted the ball to see if it was yours. If you clearly mark your ball on both sides of the ball and push the grass away from your ball, you  most likely will not need to pick your ball up. Before lifting your ball, mark the ball with a ball-marker or tee right behind or right next to the ball. You may also hold a club on the ground right behind or right next to the ball. You may not clean the ball and you must replace it  in it’s original spot. Rule 14.1a

Sue
Posted in Uncategorized